C&R Announces Council & Community Board Teams for Auckland City

Citizens and Ratepayers Press Release.

Auckland Citizens & Ratepayers Association is pleased to announce outstanding candidates for the Hobson, Western Bays, Tamaki-Mangakiekie and Eastern Bays Wards.

Ken Baguley, Aaron Bhatnagar and Paul Goldsmith have been selected as City Council candidates for the Ward of Hobson. C&R President John Slater says ?These three candidates will be able to draw on their combined professional, political and business acumen to make a major contribution to the governance and running of Auckland City Council?.

?Action Hobson has been discredited as ?City Vision in drag? and C&R have put up the strongest team in decades. We are confident the voters in Hobson will support our team,? he said.

In the Western Bays Ward C&R has selected Sally Wenley and Greg Moyle. Sally a former Radio NZ journalist resides in Ponsonby, and Greg, a personal financial advisor and the former Chair of the Western Bays Community Board, resides in Herne Bay. C&R are confident of defeating the two City Vision candidates in Western Bays.

C&R is also pleased to announce that Kit Parkinson and Sam Lotu-Iiga are to stand for council in the ward of Tamaki- Maungakiekie for the City Council. Kit, a local business man, and Sam, an Onehunga resident, are outstanding candidates and will represent the ward well on the Auckland City Council.

The community board for Eastern Bays has also been confirmed. They will work with the two C&R city councillors Doug Armstrong and Toni Millar. The team is Colin Davis, Helen Wallace, David Roberton, Adriana Gunder (all sitting members) and our new candidate Kate Cooke.

More candidates will be announced in the coming weeks, along with key policy points.

?There is a great feeling within the organisation as we begin to move into the campaign,? Mr Slater said. ?There is a definitely a strong mood to change the council, and only C&R can do this.?


John Slater

President, Auckland Citizens & Ratepayers Association

0275 923959




Auckland City Council Contacts


Ken Baguley: 027 246 0615

Aaron Bhatnagar: 021 872 871

Paul Goldsmith: 021 293 3370

Western Bays

Greg Moyle: 021 444 339

Sally Wenley: 027 258 8850


Sam Lotu-Iiga: 021 492 994

Kit Parkinson: 027 274 9688

Eastern Bays

Cr Doug Armstrong: 0274 744 245

Cr Toni Millar: 0274 801 050