Map of the day

Source –

Click image for a high-res view

Women?s Suffrage Victory Map from 1919

Map by?National Woman Suffrage Publishing?via Norman B. Leventhal Map Center at the Boston Public Library

As difficult as it may be to believe, The?Nineteenth Amendment to the United States Constitution was ratified on August 18th, 1920, less than 100 years ago. It stated that: ?The right of citizens of the United States to vote shall not be denied or abridged by the United States or by any State on account of sex.?

In plain English, it gave the vote to all women of voting age.?However, before its passage, not all women had been denied the vote as the map above demonstrates.?By 1919, 15 out of 48 states had full suffrage for women, while 12 had absolutely no suffrage. The rest had some sort of complex arrangement part way between the two. These included:

  • Primary Suffrage:?Women could vote in?primaries, but not in elections themselves.
  • Presidential suffrage:?Women could vote for the President but not municipal or state officials.
  • Presidential and municipal suffrage:?Women could vote for the President and in local elections but not for state offices.
  • Municipal suffrage:?Women could vote for local officials but not for higher offices.
  • Municipal suffrage in charter cities:?Women could vote in local elections in only certain cities of a state.
  • School Bond or Tax:?In these states, women may have been able to vote on matters related to school bonds (funds for schools) and/or matters relating to tax.

What the Nineteenth Amendment did was to simplify matters by giving voting rights to all women, no matter what state they lived in.